Search me, O God

The words of this hymn, written by J. Edwin Orr, add to the Psalm that was focused on in yesterday’s service. Psalm 139 encourages us to praise God for His omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence. The final six verses of the song gave us an even clearer glimpse of David, the psalmist’s heart, as he prays for God’s justice to be done corporately and personally. As you read the words of this hymn, pray Psalm 139 back to the Creator.


1. Search me, O God, and know my heart today,
Try me, O Savior, know my thoughts, I pray;
See if there be some wicked way in me;
Cleanse me from every sin, and set me free.

2. I praise Thee, Lord, for cleansing me from sin;
Fulfill Thy word and make me pure within;
Fill me with fire, where once I burned with shame;
Grant my desire to magnify Thy name.

3. Lord, take my life, and make it wholly Thine;
Fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine;
Take all my will, my passion, self and pride;
I now surrender, Lord, in me abide.

4. O Holy Ghost, revival comes from Thee;
Send a revival, start the work in me;
Thy Word declares Thou wilt supply our need;
For blessings now, O Lord, I humbly plead.

Leave a Reply

